The Foundation

The ARTIUM of Alava Foundation is a non-profit entity set up in February 2001 by the Provincial Council of Alava to direct and manage ARTIUM, Basque Centre-Museum of Contemporary Art.

Mission, vision and values

It is responsibility of the Foundation, among other functions, to preserve the Museum’s cultural wealth, to inspire its knowledge and disseminate its heritage, and to promote culture in general. If you want to know more about the Artium Foundation, please visit our Portal of Transparency.

Its Board of Trustees is formed by public institutions that took part in the construction and initiation process of ARTIUM and the private entities that, through their participation in the Corporate Members Programme of these Foundation, became Private Trustees.

The Board has the responsibility of safeguarding the institutional aims, monitor the Foundation, approve the budget and act as a bridge between the Foundation and the society.

Artium of Alava Foundation Board of Trustees

(From 2015 june 13)


Ramiro González Vicente
President of Álava Provincial Council

Vice president

Igone Martínez de Luna Unanue
Chair of Basque, Culture and Sport. Álava Provincial Council

Board members

Bingen Zupiria Gorostidi
Minister of Linguistic Policy and Culture. Basque Government

Cristina González Calvar
Chair of Employment Development, Trade, Tourism and Provincial Administration. Álava Provincial Council

José Luis Cimiano Ruiz
Chair of Treasury, Finance and Budget. Álava Provincial Council

Estíbaliz Canto Llorente
Councillor of the Department of Culture, Education and Sport. Town Council of Vitoria-Gasteiz

José Ángel Muñoz Otaegi
Deputy Minister of Culture, Youth Affairs and Sport. Basque Governement

Joseba Koldo Pérez de Heredia Arbigano
Director of Basque, Culture and Sport. Álava Provincial Council

Begoña Torres González
Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport

María Goti Ciprián
Diario El Correo S.A.

Francisco Javier Allende Arias
Euskaltel Foundation

Koldo Eguren Cendoya
Vital Foundation

Beatriz Herráez Diéguez
Director of Artium


Susana Guede
Álava Provincial Council

Distribution of members in the Board

  • Provincial Council of Álava: 5 members
  • Basque Government: 2 members
  • Town Council of Vitoria-Gasteiz: 1 member
  • Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport: 1 member
  • Diario El Correo S.A.: 1 member
  • Euskaltel Foundation: 1 member
  • Vital Foundation: 1 member

This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

If you not change browser settings, you agree to it. Learn more

I understand